A Walk on the Nile River

I will never, ever forget that day. That day when I got rejected on something I worked on and hoped for an entire year and a half, with one simple word. No.

God, I love that day! I remember I started walking out feeling everything, absolutely everything feeling apart. I felt like I’ve failed so, so bad. And then I just felt my tears pouring so hard and I just couldn’t stop them (you girl!!) I legit was walking in the middle of a very crowded street and my eyes kept pouring, so I decided to stop near the nile river and take a moment to actually cry my heart out. I was weeping. People would come to me and give me a tissue and pat on my back and say nothing is worth it. Someone offered me a free horse ride for crying out loud! Free! xD I didn’t realize how nice people were in Egypt until that day haha.

Anyways back to the point. I finally decided to walk, my eyes weren’t pouring anymore but I was like a ghost. I’d hear people say “god, is she okay?! She looks sick!”

And while I was ghosting by trying to find my way home I glanced a message written on a car, a verse actually.

It said:(وَاصْبِرُوا إِنَّ اللَّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ)

“Be patient and persevering: For Allah (God) is with those who patiently persevere”

I saw it and suddenly, I felt a smile creeping on my face. I glanced a little then I kept walking.

The point is. I decided to give it another try, give it all my best and not take no for an answer. Because ain’t nobody stoppin’ me from where I want to go. And guess what, It worked!

See I don’t like to sulk. Honestly. don’t be a sulker, man.

I love that day so much. Because it reminds me no matter how life breaks you into tears on the Nile river. You choose to get back up and keep on fighting.

I usually don’t like emotional writing. But this is what I feel these days. I feel lost. I’m so scared my life would go for nothing. I’m scared i’d die before I do something. Make a little difference. But I was scared that day too. God knows how I was lost and how I felt alone on my path. Which I sometimes feel now. But I kept going, I was patient and just kept working on it until it hit.

That’s what you do. You keep going.

You get knocked down, you choose not to feel any pain (or spend a day crying on the Nile river) you get back up and you keep moving forward.

Keep on it. Things will happen. Good things take time. As long as you’re on them. They come ❤
God. Such a long self-to-self babbling.

Cheers!
– Omnia

Ah man. What a beautiful day.

Verse: Quran – Al Anfal 46 ❤

10 thoughts on “A Walk on the Nile River

Leave a comment